I Am Proud

I’m not going to lie, it has taken me a lot of time to write this goodbye letter. Whether it’s because I’m overwhelmed with feelings about leaving Jenny Mag or I have some hidden denial that I’m leaving at all, I’m not exactly sure, but I’m going to do my best to put it all into words.

Ever since I heard about the Student Literary Arts Association and Jenny Magazine, I knew I wanted to be involved. I ghosted on the email list for a while until, finally after one year, I was able to make the SLAA meeting schedule work with my class schedule. I had no idea when I started going to meetings that I would eventually become Vice President of SLAA for a year and a half and create a new section in Jenny Magazine. I would’ve never even suspected that Jenny Magazine would be the first literary journal to publish one of my stories.  If anything, I was just happy to finally have found some people in the English department that I really clicked with.

There are so many memories I have from Jenny Magazine that I can’t compile them into one letter. The one feeling I remember after each premiere party, however, was an overwhelming pride that would just pour out of me. I am proud to be a part of something that promoted local authors. I am proud of all of my friends as I watch them get published and work through the ranks of Jenny Mag. I am insanely proud to have worked on a magazine that publishes plays and has devoted an entire issue to women.

I guess the thing I am proudest of is that I know Jenny Magazine will keep burning long after me and all of its current members have graduated and moved on. Something like Jenny Magazine is too powerful to lose momentum as it transitions through members because it’s bigger than all of us who work on it. Knowing that it will continue to live on makes it hard to feel sad about leaving it, because I know in the spring, and next fall, and for seasons to come, I will be able to read the next issue of Jenny Mag and see what its new stewards have made of it.

Jenny Magazine and SLAA are in good hands, and have been in good hands as long as I’ve been there. Jordan McNeil, our amazing president and head editor, has really brought something new to every issue of the Jenny, and I know she’ll keep putting in as much energy and effort as she continues as its strong and fearless leader. All of our new and old staff members not only care so much for the magazine, but are also so much fun to be around and make working together an absolute joy. I hope all of them are proud of all the work we have done so far, and I look forward to seeing what they do next.

— Amber Palmer, Vice President of SLAA and Issue 11 Playwriting Editor

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

