Ladies of Jenny: Meet Kayla Jeswald

In celebration of our upcoming women’s issue, we wanted to introduce you to a few of the great ladies of Jenny Magazine. Our staff is currently reading through submissions for Issue 11, dedicated to exclusively featuring writing and art by female-identifying creators, which should be released in November. Stay tuned for more!

Kayla Jeswald
Jenny Magazine Staff Member
Issue 11 Poetry Team

Major: MFA in Fiction

My preferences are all over the place when it comes to reading. I am a big fan of Alice Sebold, John Green, and Chris Barzak. I do like stories with a bit of a darker side to them; those always peak my interest. Right now, I am reading The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King. My favorite things I read this year so far, include Citizen by Claudia Rankine, Selected Poems by Mary Ruefle, and Sweet Nothing by Richard Lange.

I am currently working on my thesis to graduate. My thesis focuses on mental illness within my main character. I wanted to discuss this because I feel like mental illness is a bit taboo in our culture, and I wanted to break that barrier. I used to write a lot of poetry, but the last few years I have really enjoyed writing nonfiction pieces and fiction pieces. I am currently in a flash fiction course, so I am challenging myself to write very short, precise pieces, which is new for me.

When not writing or reading, I am probably working. When I do have free time I like to cook, hang out with my family or friends, play with my puppy, or do something active. I am pretty excited about fall coming up. I love the crisp air, so spending some time outside will definitely be a must.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

