Ladies of Jenny: Meet Amber Palmer

In celebration of our upcoming women’s issue, we wanted to introduce you to a few of the great ladies of Jenny Magazine. Submissions for Issue 11, dedicated to exclusively featuring writing and art by female-identifying creators, close on September 10. We hope to see your work!

Amber Palmer

Amber Palmer
YSU Student Literary Arts Association Vice President
Jenny Magazine Issue 11 Playwriting Editor

Majors: Professional and Technical Writing; Theater Studies

I like to read playwrights like Sarah Ruhl (favorites of hers are The Clean House, The Vibrator Play, and Late: A Cowboy Song), Paula Vogel (favorites are The Baltimore Waltz and And Baby Makes Seven), Charles Mee (favorites are Hotel Cassiopeia and Big Love), Topdog/Underdog by Suzan Lori Parks, Arcadia by Tom Stoppard, 36 Views by Naomi Iizuka, and Red by John Logan. As far as classic playwrights, I love Moliere, George Bernard Shaw, and Chekov, if I’m in the right mood.

I haven’t been reading much outside of plays, but I enjoyed Fun Home by Alison Bechtel, Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk, the Flowers in the Attic series by V.C. Andrews (definitely a guilty pleasure), Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro, The Soul of an Octopus by Sy Montgomery and pretty much anything written by Laurie Halse Anderson, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and Edith Wharton.

I currently am reading Stardust by Neil Gaiman, Ruby Sunrise by Rinne Groff, GRE text books, and Stop Kiss by Diana Son.

I like to write everything. My focus is in playwriting, and I tend to lean towards realistic fantasies, or modern realistic stories with a supernatural twist. As far as general fiction, I tend to lean toward speculative fiction and have a strange obsession with zombies. Also I wrote a play about my cactus once. I like creative nonfiction, but I don’t spend a whole lot of time writing it.

Currently I’m working on a full length play involving an old haunted house and the family that lives in it. As part of my senior project, it will be getting a reading at some point in this fall. I’m also working on plays for the regional American College Theater festival, some of which involve sentient animatronics, purgatory, cloning, and octopuses.

As far as general fiction goes, I’m trying to experiment with writing several timelines and time jumping within one short story about choices you make and how they create and destroy other choices. I’m also editing a fantasy novel.

When not writing or reading, I do theater! I love puppetry and doing theater administration work. I also do dramaturgy, which can range from providing historical research to a play to acting as an advocate for a new play while it’s in development. Outside of theater, I am the copy editor for The Jambar, our on-campus newspaper. I’m really into cartoons, like Adventure Time, Steven Universe, and Over the Garden Wall. I am obsessed with The Muppets. I also am the loving mother of a beautiful cactus and a dog named Max.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

