Friday Feature: Interview with Kelly Bancroft

Each week, the editors of Jenny Magazine sit down with either fellow literary magazine editors or past Jenny contributors for short interviews. This week’s interview is with Kelly Bancroft, a past contributor of Jenny Magazine.

Describe your first publication. Where was it, when, and what was the piece about? How old were you at the time and how did it feel?

My first publication was a poem called “Anthropology and Farming” about the relationship between humans and animals. I was a sophomore in college. It felt amazing.

What inspired your pieces in the Jenny?

The first piece was inspired by surgery and the effects of the medication.

The second piece was co-written with a friend — we wanted to experiment and see how it went.

What got you into writing?

I have just always done it. Playing with language and telling stories came naturally to me.

What do you like writing the most? Is there a certain style you prefer?

It really depends on what mood I’m in. I like writing anything, really.

What’s your proudest moment as an author?

I’m undecided — it’s either when I won an Ohio Arts Council grant or when a play I wrote was performed in Pittsburgh.

How has your writing developed over time?

I’m more patient with revision and look forward to it, because that is where the real craft comes in.

Are you currently working on anything?

Several things: A play. A collection of essays. A book of poems.

What’s your writing process?

I hear a voice or get an instant image of a character and put it on the page. I typically rush through a first draft. Then I revise after putting it aside for a few weeks. Then I revise again. Then I show it to a trusted reader. Then revise again.

What are you currently reading?

The Children of Men by P.D. James (again). Elizabeth Bishop. Emily Dickinson. Vivian Gornick.

Have you ever co-written something with another author? If so, what was that experience like?

Yes, twice. I loved the experience, but it requires a very strong and honest relationship between two people with compatible goals for themselves and for the piece.

Have you ever worked with a medium other than writing? Or collaborated with someone in another medium with your writing?

Yes. Songwriting and performance.

Kelly Bancroft’s work can be found in Issue 1 and the ‘Eddie Loves Debbie’ print edition of Jenny Magazine.


Are you a past Jenny contributor or an editor at a literary magazine and interested in an interview? Send us an email.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

