Friday Feature: Interview with Lee Boyle

Each week, the editors of Jenny Magazine sit down with either fellow literary magazine editors or past Jenny contributors for short interviews. This week’s interview is with Lee Boyle, a past contributor of Jenny Magazine.

Describe your first publication. Where was it, when, and what was the piece about? How old were you at the time and how did it feel?

My first publication was in a poetry magazine based in Robbinston, Maine, entitled Off The Coast. The poem is about what defines establishment in one’s career. It was nominated for a Pushcart Prize. I was 24 years old, and I was excited about it. I found it ironic that it was my first poem published, given the subject matter.

What inspired your pieces in the Jenny?

All those poems were inspired by Ohio and the music found in living here.

What got you into writing?

My mother got me into writing by encouraging me to be creative. I started writing songs, at an early age, in an Ohio band called Third Class.

What do you like writing the most? Is there a certain style you prefer?

I like writing songs the most, but many of them come from poems, so both are important.

What are your influences? Who are your favorite writers?

I am most heavily influenced by, poet, Kenneth Rexroth. He is one of my favorite poets, as well as Anne Sexton, Barbara Guest, Gary Snyder, Clifton Snider, and William Carlos Williams.

What’s your proudest moment as an author?

I wrote poems for some of my friends as Christmas presents, one year, and they seemed touched by them.

How has your writing developed over time?

My writing started as a dramatic, rhyming, free-association rant. Now, it is a trimmed-fat, non-rhyming conversation. My college professor, Craig Paulenich, is who I have to thank for this change.

Are you currently working on anything?

I am currently promoting a new album, Hymns From Some Small Town, from my band, Third Class. You won’t find a better infusion of poetry and music.

What’s your writing process?

I usually rip off the structure of a specific poem from any of my favorite authors. Then, I rewrite, over and over and over, until I have departed from that poem.

What are you currently reading?

I am reading Moby Dick.

Have you ever co-written something with another author? If so, what was that experience like?

I have co-written many things with many people and they always improve what I bring to them.

Have you ever worked with a medium other than writing? Or collaborated with someone in another medium with your writing?

Other than music, I make online skits in Bullskit Productions, and I do a podcast called Nursery Podcast about Ohio’s creative voice.

Lee Boyle’s poems “Pubs of Youngstown” and “Western Reserve” can be found in Issue #6 of Jenny Magazine.


Are you a past Jenny contributor or an editor at a literary magazine and interested in an interview? Send us an email.

Tags: ,

One response to “Friday Feature: Interview with Lee Boyle”

  1. Lee Boyle says :

    Thanks, Jenny! You guys are awesome!

Leave a Reply

